The Explorer Belt

Explorer Belt

The Explorer Belt "is designed to help young people develop a real understanding of another country by travelling through that country, working as a small team to complete surprise projects, and meeting local people."

To complete the Explorer Belt, an Explorer Scout or member of the Scout Network must:

Going on the trip does not guarantee that the belt will be awarded. After the final presentation the award team decide whether to award the belt or not. The successful groups are shown below, along with the year and venue.

1983 Tony Corfield, Ian Heald Cantabria, Spain
1985 Dave Harrison, Andy Peters Brittany, France
2001 Tom Gregg, Matt Gibson Ardennes, Belgium
2003 Edd Dooley, Adam Kay, Steve Tarrant,
Rob Bailey, Dave Green, Mike Scurfield
Ardennes, Belgium
2006 Charles Growcott, Dave Mason, Neil Smith,
Pete Smith, Simon Timmins, Ben Ware
Dusseldorf, Germany
2010 Megan Nelson, Neil Mycock, Tom Edwards,
James Comiskey, Rob Massey
Copenhagen, Denmark